Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
a testament of my insanity

I didn't mention it but Philip brought back a bag of guns from his dad's house. He didn't think they should be left out in the middle of Alabama, just in case the place got robbed. I don't like having guns in the house. Not only do I have occasional suicidal episodes (that I usually work through pretty quickly... still, I'd rather not have the temtation to pick one up) but I'm also just against the concept of having guns. We're not hunters... and we live in a secure place.

Which leads right into the dvd from netflix.com that Philip and I watched today. BOWLING FOR COLUMBINE, the brilliant Oscar-winning documentary by Michael Moore. It's about why the United States has such a high rate of gun violence as compared to other nations with just as many guns, just as much racial mix (because most people think gun-killings are related to the number of guns available or the tensions involved in mixed cultures). But it seems those factors don't always synch up.

The U.S. has over 10 times more gun-related killings (including school shootings) than any country on the planet. What makes the U.S. different? It's our sense of fear... fear instilled in us by the media, which is promoted by businesses that try to sell us things to relieve our fear (our government does the same thing... and seems in-league with big business)... but they keep coming up with new things to scare us... to keep selling us protection... and it permeates our souls to the point where we'd rather shoot first and ask questions later... or to where we're unable to control our fear and anger (which is an off-shoot of fear).

Let's not be so scared. That's easier said than done, huh?

Oh, I've gotta mention that I tasted my first Asian guy after working out at Le Club today. He was really hot, really friendly, visiting from Texas. I wish I'd had more time to play, but Philip and I had errands to do.

After a very full day of shopping for groceries and biz stuff, Philip and I took a nice walk uptown like we used to when we first started dating... looking at the Garden District mansions... swinging in a school playground. I'm so, so in love with Philip... and we're so happy together... it's just bizarre to me that this is real and that I'm so blessed. Honestly, I thank my lucky stars and my angels every day.

After walking by the replica of Scarlett O'Hara's home "Tara" on St. Charles, we came home and watched the first half of GONE WITH THE WIND on dvd, then went to bed on this Friday, Augst 22nd, 2003.

[email protected]
www.vidkidtimo.com/me

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2003-08-22

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!