Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
a testament of my insanity

I re-mastered MID-SUMMER DREAMS onto dvd today. I did it one segment at a time (since the Mac tends to freeze when I try to output long projects onto tape). So each of the dream sequences is on a different tape... but I tried to put them in a way that would only leave about 3 seconds of black between scenes... Since I've never done it this way I was worried that I'd screw up and have to start over... but it all went very smoothly. When I played it back to check on the transitions, they went smoothly... except there was about 4 seconds of black in between chapters. I can live with that. I LOVE the final presentation. MID-SUMMER DREAMS is the most-expensive, most-creatively-edited project I've ever done... and yes, I love all of my videos, but I think I love this one the most of all! The first five scenes (the dreams) are very artsy... but the last scene is totally relaxed and fun. (It won't be up on my main site for sale to the main public for a couple of more weeks, but I will announce that in this log, of course.)

I usually leave behind-the-scenes footage in my videos, at least in my Pueris Collection, but I wanted to show the viewer that I'm quite capable of making a polished product... I just like the story told by the stuff that usually hits the cutting-room floor in most productions. Sure, sometimes the camera is pointed at the floor (a la BLAIR WITCH) but hearing what we (the models and I) are talking about adds a whole new twist to the sexual action. I love what I do, dammit... and I love what I've done in MID-SUMMER DREAMS. This may be the only video like this I make... but I'm glad I made such a good one!

Here's the poem that I'll use to plug the project:

When Spring is just a memory
and Autumn not yet conceived
from between the ears
and beneath the sheets
come forth MID-SUMMER DREAMS.

Philip and I celebrated the completion of this new tape by having a late lunch at Cafe Rani on Magazine. Wow, their desserts are incredible!

We also went to visit radio-talk-show-host David Tyree for a while.

We spent the evening watching one of my favorite movies on dvd (from netflix.com) WHAT'S UP DOC? I tried showing an 18 year old friend this movie a few years ago and he just totally did not enjoy it... but Philip and I laughed like we were drunk. I just love Barbra Streisand. The dvd also had an audio commentary by Streisand... which was cute. The other audio commentary by the director (Peter Bogdanovich) was also enjoyable.

Oh my god, Scott Bradley wrote the most wonderful piece about filming with me! It's on his latest online column on vidioview.com. I'll talk about it more tomorrow... but go read it for yourself in the meantime!

That was my productive, fulfilling, happy Wednesday, September 24th, 2003.

[email protected]
www.vidkidtimo.com/me

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2003-09-24

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!