Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
-� boring details of my life� -

I could talk about the two moles I cut off myself today (look, I ain't got no money and I ain't got no health insurance, so I don't wanna hear any bitchin' about my medical self-treatment... hell, I was a hospital corpsman in the Naval Reserve). But instead I think I'll just rave about the movie that Philip and I saw with my beloved boat boys.

Allan (who hates painting) and Mike took a break from coating their bedroom walls the same colors as my website (maroon and grey), to bring us to see THE LADYKILLERS, the latest offering from the Coen brothers (Joel and Ethan).

The first Coen brothers' movie I ever saw (back in college) was RAISING ARIZONA, which was, to me, the funniest and most creative bit of story-telling of its day... which also made me cry three times at the theatre (seeing "Nathan Jr." in that flash-foward sequence gets me every time). Each movie after that was always very good... some were great like FARGO and O BROTHER, WHERE ART THOU? but THE LADYKILLERS is the very best of all!

I won't tell you many details, as to spoil the plot, but this comedy breaks formula in some special ways that make it a very smart 104 minutes at the cinema. If you like the Coen brothers' stuff... by all means, don't wait for the dvd... rush out to see THE LADYKILLERS!

On the drive home, as Allan's predicted thunderstorm soaked New Orleans, Philip and I drove by his renovation house so we could see the porch lights, that were on for the first time (the electrician hooked them up this morning). It's amazing how a little illumination can give one a feeling of hope.

And that was Saturday, April 24th, 2004.

email me:� [email protected]
find out more about me:�
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
lose a few pounds:� www.healthupgrade.net
make some extra cash:� www.wealthupgrade.net
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at
:� www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2004-04-24

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!