Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
-� boring details of my life� -

Today I was in Los Angeles filming some stuff with my friend Jeff Roberson who portrays Varla Jean Merman in brilliant cabaret shows, in which he / she actually sings. I've been working on videos and live productions with Jeff since college... 1987! That's seventeen years! Working with Jeff, I can honestly (and easily) say, has given me the most creative satisfaction (and fun) of my life. I'm so glad we're still able to collaborate so well after all this time.

Now that I've given props to my darling friend, I must now tell you that today was all about Jack Plotnick. My faithful readers probably would recognize Mr. Plotnick even if they don't know his name, because he's in a current VISA commercial (which I see three or four times a day) and he has numerous cameo roles in movies and television.

Mr. Plotnick was the lead drag performer in the film GIRLS WILL BE GIRLS. I've plugged this film almost none-stop since it came to dvd (buy it). I love the film... Mr. Plotnick was great in it, my friend Jeff (who played Varla and Marla Simmons) did an excellent job as well... and Clinton Leupp (Miss Coco Peru) turned me inside out with his performance. But Jack Plotnick in aged-drag may not be the face of Jack Plotnick you'd recognize.

I first remember seeing Mr. Plotnick in the phenomenal semi-biographical look into the life of director James Whale (FRANKENSTEIN, BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN) in the film GODS AND MONSTERS. Whenever I saw the distinctly-handsome Jack Plotnick after that, I would always say to myself (or whoever was around) "oh, that's the guy from GODS AND MONSTERS"...

Mr. Plotnick played the deputy mayor in four episodes of BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER... I think I saw him on an episode of DAWSON'S CREEK... He was in SAY IT ISN'T SO (I forgot to ask him about Chris Klein and Sally Field) and last year I was thrilled to see him in DOWN WITH LOVE (especially thrilled because, at that point, I knew he was in a movie with a friend of mine... and incidentally, I just plain LOVED that film). That's actually when I learned his name and he became so much more than just "the guy from GODS AND MONSTERS"...

But Philip and I became highly aware of Jack in a Coke commercial that aired in theatres, before the features began. This advert was done in the style of a sepia-toned silent film. Jack played a guy who wanted desperately to get into a sold-out football game and tried all kinds of ways to get in... finally resorting to clinging to the back of a huge line-backer as he entered the stadium with the rest of his teammates. We LOVED this commercial... and we saw it quite a lot because we were seeing a lot of films at that time in our lives... before the money started getting tight.

So, Jack Plotnick, to me, is one of my favorite kinds of actors. Sure, the fact that he's gay is kewl, but I like that he's just very visable and busy... AND good at what he does. Even though I didn't know him, I always felt like I was seeing a friend.

And filming with Mr. Plotnick only increased my appreciation, not only of his talent, but also of his character. He is a good guy. He put up with some pretty grueling low-budget filming situations... and he did it with grace. I just can't say enough about how much fun it was to watch him and "Varla" act... and interact.

I did my best to hold back and not act too star-stuck around Jack Plotnick. I had a zillion questions, but I knew we had a very limited time to film what we had to film. I think we broke a record with this one... all of the primary filming was done inside of four hours... avoiding the relentless California sun, which is harsh on the video lens. I hope I meet Mr. Plotnick again so I can gush like a giddy schoolgirl.

:-)

After filming wrapped, I took a nap at the hotel while Jeff and Mark went to take a meeting with E! which might lead to some red-carpet event hosting (Varla vs. Joan Rivers?!) or maybe even Varla's own show?! Time tells all.

Mark came to pick me up to see (and film) Varla's UNDER A BIG TOP show at the Gay and Lesbian Community Center. A rumor was floating around that Lily Tomlin was going to show up... but she didn't (unless she came dressed up as that waffle-eating old man she played in BLUE IN THE FACE). Varla's performance was excellent, as always, but the crowd was small. I think everyone stayed home to see the final episode of FRASIER, a show I've never seen, believe it or not.

Varla's biggest fans, Corey and Claudia, treated me to a late dinner at Hamburger Mary's. I was so exhausted, I hope they could tell how happy I was to see them. After eating our delicious dead cows, Jeff and Mark took me to the airport so I could take the "red-eye" home to New Orleans... with a lay-over in Dallas.

And that was my Thursday, May 13th, 2004.

email me:  [email protected]
find out more about me: 
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2004-05-13

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!