Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

I woke up at 7am with a frantic desire to save as many tadpoles as possible before Philip puts the chlorine in his dad's pool and turns on the new pump. I got the net and started scooping out sludge... then dumping it onto the grass, combing it with my fingers until I saw movement. If it was a bug, I left it to fend for itself... but if it was a polliwog, I would put it in a bowl of water.

For about two hours I scooped, combed and transferred (sometimes one in each fist) until I got 23 tadpoles! This process also cleaned the algae and gunk that had built up on top of the pool-cover, so that would mean less crud would fall in the pool water once we pull off the cover.

Philip woke up around 9am and he rescued the ONE tadpole that eluded my net. We then walked to the creek that runs through his dad's 11 acres and we let loose 24 tadpoles (I know the number because I let them go one at a time, trying to give them each a blessing before letting them drop into the water). Some of the tadpoles were barely an inch long, looking more like sperm than an amphibian... some were practically frogs, if only they'd lose the tail. I felt very good about doing this. Of course I knew many of them would probably be eaten immediately... but I feel as if I gave them a chance at life.

So Philip and I pulled the pool-cover off of the pool. Sure, the lining was covered with algae, but the water was clear. The next step was to turn on the new pump. Philip made sure the side filters were clear... and discovered more tadpoles nestled there! They immediately swam out into the pool... it would be impossible to save all of these critters... but I managed to save 16 more before we finally had to throw in the "shock" chemicals and turn on the pump.

The neighbor across the street came to take a look at the water and informed Philip that we'll have to deal with black algae in addition to green. It's harder to get rid of, but not impossible. It'll just take time and money (for the chemicals).

So in a few weeks... we'll have a pool to jump in when the sun gets too harsh.

And that was the day Philip and I saved 40 potential-frogs... Sunday, May 30th, 2004.

email me: [email protected]
find out more about me:
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2004-05-30

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!