Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

Philip worked 12 hours today installing satellite dishes. This is the first day he did it all on his own. They have him driving all over lower Alabama...

I watched AMISH IN THE CITY (and recorded it for Philip to watch later). When we first saw the previews for it I thought, "oh great, Hollywood is going to show some Amish people the temptations of the modern world and perhaps poison the purity of their religion"... But actually the Amish have a period before they become members of the church, usually in their late teens or early twenties, when they can leave the Amish way of life and experience the outside world before making the lifelong commitment to their faith and way of life. This tradition is known as rumspringa.

I think I'm kind of in my own version of rumspringa. I'm in a period of my life where I want to do something totally different from what I've always done. Although I guess it's kind of the opposite of rumspringa (which translates to "running around" or "running wild") since I've been running wild most of my life. I'm in the mood not only to settle down but also to experience the kind of peace and quiet (and most of the time, solitude) that country-life can permit.

I love living in the middle of nowhere. I love not having to be social. I love being able to rest... at last.

By the way, I ended up liking AMISH IN THE CITY a lot more than I thought I would. Five Amish kids, six city kids, one big house in Los Angeles... You can imagine the culture-clashes. I also tend to like the Amish more than the city people... but I know that most of what irritates me about them is inherent in their youth.

When Philip got home we went out to the end of Wilmer Road to put a sign up for a yard sale we were going to have tomorrow... but we realized that we didn't have any dollar bills to make change... and we were too tired (and I was beginning to feel sick)... so we decided to postpone the yard sale until we were better prepared.

That was Friday, July 30th, 2004.

email me: [email protected]
find out more about me:
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2004-07-30

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!