Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

Did you know there are some sub-atomic particles that behave a certain way when you observe them... and they behave a different way when you're not looking at them? This illustrates an important truth at the very smallest level...

When you change the way you look at things... things will change.

I've been on a spiritual quest since I was 18. My ego gets in the way quite a bit... but I have made enormous progress. Today on Alabama Public Television there was a seminar called "The Power of Intention" based on the book by Dr. Wayne Dyer. It was incredible. It even inspired me to make a contribution to the local Public Broadcasting Service!

I highly recommend "The Power of Intention" to anyone who believes in the unlimited energy of positive thinking... and how your thoughts and attitude shape your life. If you get into this kind of stuff (or if you want to)... get the book or the dvd (I think that's only available if you make a contribution to PBS). You'll love it.

But for those of you who don't know much about it... in a nutshell... Dr. Dyer teaches that there are seven "faces of intention":

1. creativity
2. kindness
3. love
4. beauty
5. expansiveness
6. abundance
7. receptivity

These "faces of intention" are ways you shape your attitude, thus creating positive energy flow... making you happy, no matter what happens in your life.

But his philosophy isn't just about accepting how your life is... it tells you how to make your life what you want it to be, what it should be.

How you change your reality is done by your intentions, your thoughts, your attitude. He says the 12 steps to that are:

1. want more for others than you want for yourself
2. think from the end (visualize your goal as if it has already happened)
3. be an appreciator (try to truly appreciate everything in your life)
4. stay in rapport with your source energy (you can think of that source as God or as just the basic energy from which all things are a part of)
5. understand resistance (basically this means to accept that your ego will not just go away instantly or magically... and to let spikes in your ego run their course... but also to understand that your ego is the only thing preventing you from tapping into your source)
6. contemplate yourself in the condition you want to achieve
7. understand the art of allowing
8. practice radical humility
9. be in a constant state of gratitude
10. do no try to resolve a problem by condemning it
11. play the match game (try to stay in sync with your goals and your source energy)
12. meditate (and that might mean "prayer" for those who do that)

I have been reading books on this subject and have been believing this type of thing since right before I turned 19 (usually very "Eastern" and thus not so palatable to Western thinkers). I just love the way Dr. Dyer was able to explain these concepts in plain talk. I hope it helps a lot of people. And if you believe it's a bunch of bunk... at least you have a better idea of the kind of "bunk" I subscribe to!

:-)

When Philip got back from setting up satellite dishes, I made dinner and we watched crap t.v. 'til bedtime on this Saturday, August 7th, 2004.

email me: [email protected]
find out more about me:
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2004-08-07

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!