Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

By the time Philip and I had woken up, Hurricane Ivan had already blown through Lower Alabama. The news reported massive damage.

We spent a good part of the day visiting with my mother... but Philip was determined to go back to Wilmer and survey the damage... so we left St. Francisville (knowing we'd probably have to come straight back as soon as we saw what shape the house was in... for surely the electricity would be out).

While driving back to Alabama we went through Clinton, Louisiana... and made a quick detour to see Silliman Institute, the private school I went from first to part of eighth grade at. I haven't been there in over 20 years and I was curious to see if it would seem much smaller than my memory of it... but it was just as HUGE as my recollection.

The closer we got to Wilmer, Alabama, the more damage we saw... trees uprooted or snapped... phone polls leaning or broken... electric wires dangerously dangling. But thankfully Philip's dad's house was fine, except for a few shingles blown off the roof... and a large (unused) t.v. antenna tipped over onto our DirecTV satellite dish. The electricity was off, too... and predictions stated that it might take TWO WEEKS to get it back up and running in our area.

We drove back to my mom's in St. Francisville... very grateful that we still had a house to go back to... eventually.

That was Thursday, September 16th, 2004.

email me: [email protected]
find out more about me:
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

 

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2004-09-16

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!