Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

Philip had a day off today. We watched the "Saturday Night Live" which I taped last night... and the Cake concert on FreeView. I just love Cake! Not just the musical group, but the baked, frosted edible kind.

Philip and I drove into Mobile to do some grocery shopping... we also got a kitty carrier to use next weekend when we go get those refugee pussies from Paul G.

While Philip straightened out his side of the office, I watched a kewl documentary about Lewis & Clark on PBS. This program pronounced "Sacagawea" suh-kah'-guh-wee-uh (which I'd always heard spoken sack-uh-juh-wee'-uh). I guess it's kind of like hearing "Tutankhamen" as too-tahnk'-a-moon in a slide presentation in elementary school... and then every documentary since then using the too-tin-kah'-mun elocution. Tow-may'-tow, tow-mah'-tow.

I also watched a documentary about the conflict between Arafat and Sharon.

Philip made dinner and we watched "The Simpsons" and "Arrested Development" on DirecTV then ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND on dvd from netflix.com.

Have you ever been in such pain that you wished you could just erase an event or a person from your mind, so you wouldn't have to feel that pain? Perhaps it was only a fleeting thought in the very depths of a post-break-up or post-death-in-the-family situation... but I think everyone (at least every teenager or young adult) has had that thought cross their mind. Well, in ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND, the technology exists. If your beloved pet dies, you can just erase him from your memory and not suffer the residue of his demise. Or if an ex-girlfriend breaks your heart... you can really show her by obliterating her from your memory. Of course, the ultimate premise of the film is how doing that is self-defeating... not only cruel to yourself, but cruel to the noble idea of the person or thing you don't want to suffer the loss of (mourning loss is a valuable part of being human... and it contributes to our personality... or maybe you don't have to mourn a loss, if you can figure out a way to integrate the reality of it into yourlife without creating a loss!). If you liked BEING JOHN MALCOVICH or BRAINSTORM (or the non-linear story-telling of MEMENTO) you'll probably love ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND. It's certainly on my list of favorites now. Philip totally appreciated it, too.

That was Sunday, November 14th, 2004.

email me: [email protected]
find out more about me and my art:
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at
: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

help maintain Vidkid Timo's diary: donate five bucks (recurs monthly)

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2004-11-14

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!