Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

Two weeks ago today Philip and I went to rescue three wayward felines from Paul G's backyard. We knew we would have to keep them all sequestered in our utility / laundry room for a couple of weeks, until they bonded to either us or the new location. Today is the day that I knew I'd have to set them free... or at least, one of them. Hepsebah, the gorgeous gray kitten and Bitumen, the beautiful black kitten, even though I play with them all the time, are still ultra-skittish. I had the strong feeling that if I let them go, that I wouldn't be able to get them back into the safety of the utility room on a rainy or frosty night. So... I put them on two short leashes and let Sangria (the affectionate mother) roam.

Sangria was so excited to be liberated that she ran toward the woods and sniffed out the perimeter of our backyard. We don't have any solid fence or barrier to keep her from going off our 11 acres... or from wandering onto Wilmer Road... but thankfully, she kept close.

I've been taking the kittens outside almost every dry day since we got them... letting them play in the grass, but keeping a close watch. I just can't let them "go" until I know they will return when they need shelter... or when they are called (or when I shake the cat food box, a noise which usually attracts cats like glitter does to drag queens).

By nightfall, Sangria had indeed returned from her scouting expedition... and was lounging between her two tethered children. I brought them back into the utility room and fed them. I always try to pet them while they're eating so they'll know that my hands are the hands that lovingly give them that food. I guess time will tell if Bitumen and Hepsebah ever fully learn to trust human contact.

That was Saturday, December 4th, 2004.

email me: [email protected]
find out more about me and my art:
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at
: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

help maintain Vidkid Timo's diary (or feed his three kitties): donate five bucks (recurs monthly)

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2004-12-04

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!