Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

I'm so glad that Brooke Shields (who I saw on "The Oprah Winfrey Show" today) has written a book and is so candid about her experience with postpartum depression. People need to understand how real mental illnesses can be... and how they can happen to anyone through chemical imbalances in the brain... brought on by a host of factors.

As my long-time readers may know, I'm no stranger to chemical depression. I was lucky that since my mother also experienced mental problems (and since my grandmother was a nurse... which kind of made our family more medically aware) that my problems were recognized and dealt with (now I'm 18 years suicide-attempt-free!)... and very content, I should add.

:-)

And for you people who don't believe in illnesses of the mind... just because you can't see brain chemistry, doesn't mean it's not there. If you see a man without a foot... you can easily surmise that he needs a prosthetic foot... or maybe a crutch to help him walk. Depression and other illnesses of the mind are just as real, even if the mechanics are invisible. Please be sensitive and kind to all the crazy people out there. We'd appreciate it.

That was Wednesday, May 4th, 2005.

email me: [email protected]
find out more about me and my art:
www.vidkidtimo.com/me
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at
: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

help maintain Vidkid Timo's diary (or feed his seven kitties): donate five bucks (recurs monthly)

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2005-05-04

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!