Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

When you live out in the country... and you don't have a ton of money to landscape your 11 acres... you start looking for less-expensive creative options to cover up the sandy soil.

Case-in-point: today I found a wild weed that I liked the look of. It was growing in patches all over the place. I decided to dig them up and plant them on the rim of the cats' island. Philip thought I was nuts, but they were kewl little plants. They grew outward from a central deep burrowing root, then fanned out. They resemble a leafy umbrella when up-rooted. The leaves are tiny with a dot of purple in the middle of each one. And they're covered with itty bitty white and yellow flowers. I totally think it looks more like a plant (the kind you'd see in an English garden) rather than a weed.

I also found another odd plant. At first we though they were wild mimosa trees, but they started bearing yellow flowers with grow out of the stalks (not at the end of the branches). There were a dozen or so (about a meter high) growing in one of our flower beds. I transplanted them to the top of one of the levees bordering the cats' island.

While I was goin' weed-wacky, Philip vacuumed the pool (which is been pretty gross since the last tropical storm eroded lots of silt into the water).

Later, while Philip cut some grass, I started making dinner. I made a spicy mole sauce, from scratch (Philip had two bitter chocolate bars that he didn't care for). It was delicious. I poured it over some grilled chicken breasts. And I made some wild rice and corn (mixed with salsa). Ol�!

"Six Feet Under" was phenomenal. "Entourage" was good. "The Comeback" blew us away and we hope it continues on this unexpected and brilliant direction. "Queer as Folk"... well, I always seem to have problems with it... Philip asked why I judge it so harshly. I honestly think it's because I expect more from a gay-themed show than from a regular show. I wanted it to be so much better than it is (more along the lines of "Sex and the City"). I never have any "wow" moments with "Queer as Folk" like I do with the shows that I love. I know I shouldn't hate a show for what it's not... I should appreciate it for what it is... and what it's trying to do. But dammit, I would've love for that show to have surprised me occasionally.

On the exact opposite of that spectrum, I've been watching repeats of old "Good Times" episodes on TV Land recently. I love that show (and I still think it's hilarious, even after all these years). I wonder if black people (then or now) see "Good Times" the way I see "Queer as Folk"? Apples and oranges, I guess...

And, for the record, the only reason I'm watching "The 4400" is to see Patrick Flueger shirtless. Show me your nipples, cutie!

:-)

That was my Sunday, July 31st, 2005.

email me: [email protected]
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

help maintain Vidkid Timo's diary (or feed his seven kitties): donate five bucks (recurs monthly)

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2005-07-31

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!