Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

Vidkid Timo's Online Diary

The diary of Vidkid Timo
- boring details of my life -

My day was just fine... I got an odd email from the brother of a celebrity I wrote about recently (Brendan King... I saw him in MARCI X and thought he was cute... and expressed that in vivid, sexual terms... which is a supreme compliment from my point of view). And after a little correspondence it became clear that the brother had no idea I was male or gay and what was meant to be complimentary fizzled into something uncomfortable. I hope I didn't offend Mr. King's fianc�e.

But then I got an important email from a friend, informing me that yet another friend of mine (the husband of a gal I used to hang with in the college days) has pancreatic cancer. This news is just as shocking as it is sad, because that means four or five of my friends (old and young alike) have cancer.

So I was bummed out a little for the rest of the day. Trying to make sense of why things in life happen they way they do... and try to stop thinking so selfishly about my own saddness when my friends need some positive attention from me.

I tried to get my mind off of woebegone stuff and watched a great documentary called "Letters from the Roman Front" which was about archaeologists finding all these ancient letters in the ruins of a Roman outpost in Britain. Now historians can piece together the details of life over 2000 years ago... in the words of the people living it. I suddenly didn't care so much about my diary being misunderstood by people who don't know me. Because the kind of people that will sum-me-up from reading just one entry are missing the big picture.

Did I mention that I'm worried about Sangria? Since we got her fixed she's gained a lot of weight. At first I thought she was just eating a lot... but now I'm pretty sure she's retaining water or bloated or something. We'll have to call the vet tomorrow... and take her and the first litter to get their stitches removed next week.

Philip could tell I was affected by the cancer-news, so he brought home some flowers and perfumed bath cubes for me. He's such a sweety.

Later I got an email from Miss Coco Peru, announcing that the show she taped for Logo was coming on tonight. It's called "Wisecrack" and it's gonna feature Coco's stand-up until Wednesday the 17th (11am)... so check your local listings and try to see it. Coco (played by the brilliant Clinton Leupp) is hilarious... and her material is always brushed with poignant moments (similar to old Carol Burnett stuff) that raises it several steps above mere shtick. I highly recommend it (or anything Coco Peru does).

So even with all that grief about friends with serious illnesses, I was able to find the place in my soul that was still able to laugh.

That was Friday, August 12th, 2005.

email me: [email protected]
get "Varla Videos" on dvd at: www.footlight.com
get "Girls Will Be Girls" on dvd at: www.amazon.com

help maintain Vidkid Timo's diary (or feed his seven kitties): donate five bucks (recurs monthly)

Latest Entry

Older Entries

Diaryland

2005-08-12

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!